Reflecting on Transnational Media and Cultural Industries

reflection-s1llcr11.jpg

Reflecting on my BCM288 Transnational Media and Cultural industries experience, I have found that it has allowed me to open my eyes to a range of different subjects to do with film and digital media companies, consumers and the abundance of creative and cultural content flows happening in the world and especially Australia.

While taking this subject I have found exploring television programs audiences and consumers, especially when looking at the block and other kinds of reality TV shows and how barriers between privacy have been demolished in a way. This was brought up in week 2 and 3, where the example of the office was brought up to show the comparison between two different cultural groups and how one was more successful and engaging than the other. I found this topic to be really interesting which is why I decided to further look into the differences between specific TV adaptions with the example of skins. Looking into the reality TV show adaptions was also a really interesting topic. When looking at this we explored the reality show Masterchef and its ability to translate a wide range of audiences around the world.

1464729048.jpgExploring the idea of Piracy and Diasporic media was also very interesting and I gain a lot of information from this topic. Using the global south as an example allowed for the idea of audiences and their interaction to be explored, especially when considering how audiences respond and interact with the media. For example, it was said that the global South’s piracy issue was enough to create corruption and also hinder the development of filmmakers and their profit made which would affect their living conditions. Although I believed at the start that piracy in some regards did allow for a legitimate way for media to be shared my beliefs in the end when doing further research changed. At the start, I believed that the idea of sharing these medias through piracy did allow for a form of distribution, which then benefitted the producers as these kinds of films like Nollywood would become more well known and shared around the globe. However, doing further research into the topic allowed me to realise that just because people are gaining these media through the internet does not necessarily mean that the producers are benefiting from it. This topic has then opened my eyes towards my habits towards piracy and has made me re-think my ways.

Virtual cosmopolitanism was another idea that was very new to me, it’s basically when two or more cultures come together and create a hybrid culture which contains aspects of the previous cultures and puts them together in a way that creates a new unique type of cultural characteristics. Learning this in class allowed me to further open my eyes to different types of cultures and what happens when they merge together.

Overall my BCM288 experience has been a positive one, definitely filled will a whole new list of words to learn and understand. The concepts explored within this subject were really interesting and I think in some way they still apply to this certain point in time. By learning about these topics my view of some things has definitely changed and I have gained a more solid idea of culture and also the way that it interacts with media and the people around the world.

Leave a Reply

